About WSLHD Quality Awards

The annual Western Sydney Local Health District Quality Awards recognise the work of our nurses, doctors, allied health professionals, support staff and researchers. The awards showcase the hard work and delivery of innovative health programs and services that positively touched the lives of our patients, carers, and the wider community. Some of the annual award winners and their projects will be submitted for further recognition at a state and national level as part of the NSW Health Innovation Awards, the NSW Premier's Awards and the Australian Council on Healthcare Standards Quality Awards.

Team Award Categories

There are nine team award categories in 2023. Refer to page 6 of this document for further information about these categories. If you are unsure which category to select for your submission, please contact your local Quality Manager or the WSLHD Quality & Accreditation Manager.

Team Award Categories:

1.       Integrated Value Based Care

2.       Excellence in Aboriginal Healthcare

3.       Excellence in the Provision of Mental Health Services

4.       Health Research and Innovation

5.       Keeping People Healthy

6.       Patient Safety First

7.       People and Culture

8.       Transforming the Patient Experience

9.    Education & Training

Key Dates

Nominations open 13 March 2023 
Nominations close 12 May 2023 
Local facility awards events

1 July – 18 August 2023

(Local event dates to be announced soon)
WSLHD Quality Awards 2023 event

Week 2 of September 2023

(Date to be announced soon)


WSLHD flow

Four steps to completing your submission

     1. Check that your project is suitable for entry and select a category

     2. Read and follow the entry requirements

     3. Use the official template

     4. Submit to your local awards advisor

Download our 2023 Submission Guide

Click below to download our teams awards submission guide!

Download Now


We’ve made submitting your entry easy.

Is your project affiliated with a facility/service?

Then, simply follow the instructions below. Selected projects  from the local quality awards are forwarded to compete at the district, state and national levels.


Quality Manager

Submit via


Auburn Hospital

Sally Henderson

Submit your entry via email to:

[email protected]

AQUA Awards Team Entry

Blacktown and Mt Druitt (BMDH) Hospital

Sarah Sullivan

Submit your entry via email to:

[email protected]

BMDH Awards Team Entry

Westmead Hospital

Kay Babalis

Click here to uploaded your entry form:

Online entry portal

QuWest Awards Team Entry

Integrated and Community Health (ICH) Services

Angelique O’Flynn

Submit your entry via email to:

[email protected]

ICH Awards Team Entry

Mental Health Services (MHS)

Kathryn Worne

Submit your entry via email to:

[email protected]

MHS Awards Team Entry

Oral Health Services

Josephine Kenny

Submit your entry via email to:

[email protected]

Oral Health Services Awards Team Entry

Drug Health Services

Tracey Brown

Submit your entry via email to:

[email protected]

Drug Health Service Awards Team

Is your project independent of any facility or service?

Then you must submit your entry directly to the WSLHD Clinical Governance team to progress straight to the WSLHD Quality Awards 2023.


Quality Manager

Submit via


WSLHD District Quality Awards

Hayley Lidbury

Submit your entry via email to:

[email protected]

WSLHD Quality Awards Team Entry


For further information and support, please contact your local Quality Manager.

Previous winners and projects

2022 winners