Committed to Research

ICH GCP Training

Conducting research according to International Conference on Harmonisation Good Clinical Practice (more commonly known as GCP) principles is the basis on which research involving human participants is conducted. It is an international ethical and scientific quality standard for designing, conducting, recording and reporting trials that involve the participation of human subjects.
It is designed to:
  • To safeguard and protect research participants.
  • Ensure the quality and credibility of data and outcomes.
  • Encourage excellent research and good science.
  • To protect researchers and reduce risk.

Conducting research is a privilege for staff who work in health and all WSLHD research staff are required to have completed ICH GCP training prior to undertaking any research.
The WSLHD GCP training is provided by two Transcelerate approved trainers. Certification will be valid for three years upon course completion.

Two courses are offered on a regular basis at Westmead & Blacktown Hospitals.
  • Introduction to GCP – for staff new to research or clinical trials or who have not completed comprehensive training – 4 hours face to face or virtual learning.
  • Refresher GCP – for experienced research or clinical trial staff and/or those who have previously obtained GCP certification – 1 ½ hours face to face or virtual learning.

Both courses will cover the 5 modules:
  • GCP – the background and why we need it
  • Study set up, roles and responsibilities, approvals and essential documents
  • Informed consent
  • Case Report Forms, source documents and source data
  • Safety Reporting

If you would like to book a course please email:
[email protected]

 

ICH GCP Training Schedules We will be recommencing face-to-face learning in February 2024.
We will be offering hybrid sessions utilising MS Teams and face-to-face.


Course Type Day Dates Time Location
Full GCP Tuesday 23rd Jan 12:30-16:30 hrs

Virtual - MS Teams

Refresher GCP Wednesday 24th Jan 10:00-11:30 hrs

Virtual - MS Teams

Full GCP Friday 16th Feb 08:30-12:30 hrs

Hybrid - Westmead – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Refresher GCP Thursday 22nd Feb 14:00 – 15:30 hrs

Hybrid - Westmead – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Full GCP Monday 18th March 08:30-12:30 hrs

Hybrid – Blacktown – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Refresher GCP Tuesday 26th March 10:00-11:30 hrs

Hybrid - Westmead – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Full GCP Thursday 18th April 12:30 - 16:30 hrs

Hybrid - Westmead – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Refresher GCP Monday 22nd April 10:00 – 11:30hrs

Hybrid - Westmead – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Full GCP Tuesday 18th June 12:30-16:30 hrs

Hybrid - Westmead – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Refresher GCP Thursday 27th June 11:00-12:30 hrs

Hybrid - Westmead – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Full GCP Friday 19th July 0830 – 12:30hrs

Hybrid - Westmead – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Refresher GCP Wednesday 31st July 10:00-11:30 hrs

Hybrid – Blacktown – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Full GCP Friday 9th August 08:30 - 12:30 hrs

Hybrid - Westmead – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Refresher GCP Tuesday 13th August 14:00 – 15:30 hrs

Hybrid - Westmead – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Full GCP Tuesday 10th September 12:30-16:30 hrs

Hybrid – Blacktown – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Refresher GCP Monday 23rd September 11:00-12:30 hrs

Hybrid - Westmead – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Full GCP Wednesday 23rd October 10:00-11:30 hrs

Hybrid – Blacktown – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Refresher GCP Friday 25th October 14:00 – 15:30 hrs

Hybrid - Westmead – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Full GCP Thursday 14th November 12:30-16:30 hrs

Hybrid - Westmead – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Refresher GCP Wednesday 20th November 10:00 – 11:30hrs

Hybrid – Blacktown – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Full GCP Tuesday 10th December 0830 – 12:30hrs

Hybrid - Westmead – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Refresher GCP Monday 16th December 11:00-12:30 hrs

Hybrid - Westmead – TBC

Virtual - MS Teams

Additional Research Training

Please contact CRSU for further training opportunities available.
E: [email protected]

 

 

feedback

 

 

Looking for General
Orientation information?

See more