Committed to Education

Interns in residence

Basic Physician Training

The Westmead Basic Physician Training (BPT) network is a multi-site network consisting of Westmead, Blacktown, Hornsby and Orange Base Hospitals, and is the largest metropolitan based BPT network in NSW. The clinical exposure for candidates within our network is unmatched for variety and depth by any other training network.

Basic physician training is a vital stage in preparing for practice as a specialist physician. Graduates of the Westmead BPT program are widely considered to be excellent clinicians and are highly desirable candidates for further training and specialist appointments due to the combination of clinical skills and professional values that are nurtured through the Westmead BPT program.

The network team is energetically dedicated to education, training and the future of junior doctors who train in internal medicine. At Westmead we provide a supportive teaching environment within busy clinical appointments. There is a focus on bedside teaching within work by senior Physicians, and a structured BPT training program which includes teaching ward rounds, an extensive lecture program, a clinical program and a professional development program. Weekly Journal Clubs, Grand Rounds, and extensive exam preparation sessions compliment the comprehensive lecture program. Exam preparation includes MCQ and long and short case preparation, trial examinations, and presentation skills workshops.

We have a strong teaching and learning culture which has been developed throughout the Network, led by a core team of highly motivated teachers in clinical and theoretical medicine who are committed to producing physicians who will practice internal medicine with compassion, integrity and to a high clinical standard.

Westmead Hospital Contact Details

Network Director of Physician Training Dr Andrew Henderson Andrew.Henderson@health.nsw.gov.au 02 9845 7970
Director of Physician Training, Westmead Hospital Dr Cristina Ciobanu Cristina.Ciobanu@health.nsw.gov.au 02 9845 5555
Director of Physician Training, Westmead Hospital Dr Lucinda Berglund Lucinda.Berglund@health.nsw.gov.au 02 9845 5555
Clinical Superintendents, Westmead Hospital Dr Elke Woodhouse Elke.Woodhouse@health.nsw.gov.au 02 9845 6229
Medical Education Support Officer, Westmead Hospital Mrs Billie Bridges Billie.Bridges@health.nsw.gov.au 02 8890 3646

 

Blacktown Hospital Contact Details

Director of Physician Training, Blacktown Hospital A/Prof Lukas Kairaitis L.Kairaitis@westernsydney.edu.au 02 9881 7743
Clinical Superintendents, Blacktown Hospital Dr Henry Maung WSLHD-BDH_ClinicalSuperintendent@health.nsw.gov.au

 

Hornsby Hospital Contact Details

Director of Physician Training, Hornsby Hospital Dr Robert Kim Juhwan.Kim@health.nsw.gov.au 02 9477 9123

 

Orange Hospital Contact Details

Director of Physician Training, Orange Hospital Dr Lauren Bradbury Lauren.Bradbury@health.nsw.gov.au 02 6393 3000
Director of Physician Training, Orange Hospital Dr Phillip Butler Phillip.Butler@health.nsw.gov.au  02 6393 3000

 

The Westmead Network Physician Training Program

The Westmead Network Physician Training Program offers a vast range of medical terms including new Clinical Pharmacology term at Westmead and additional Infectious Disease term in Blacktown. The program prides itself on being a supportive network and is always on hand to assist trainees.

The Westmead Network consists of:

  • Westmead Hospital
  • Blacktown Hospital
  • Hornsby Hospital
  • Orange Hospital

You can learn more about the Westmead Network Physician Training Program here.

The Westmead Network Physician Training Program

 

Program and Network information

Westmead Hospital

  • Intern Tutorials – Every Thursday, 1pm-2pm, Westmead Education Conference Centre
    • JMO Unified Lecture Series – Every Thursday (excluding last week of the term)
    • Education Sessions – Every Thursdays, 1pm-2pm
  • Resident tutorials – Every Tuesday, 1pm - 2pm, Westmead Education Conference Centre
  • Acute Crisis Training (ACTS) – 28/04 & 17/05, 4 hours, Simulation Centre
  • Assertive Communication – 10/05 and 31/05 from 12pm-2pm
  • Interns Career Week – held yearly, end of September/Beginning of October, 3 days


Westmead Contact Information

Director of Training

Andrew Baker

Andrew.Baker@health.nsw.gov.au

02 9845 7790

 

JMO Manager

Katherine Hill

Katherine.Hill@health.nsw.gov.au

02 9845 6282

Education Support Officer

Susan Pabon

Susan.Pabon@health.nsw.gov.au

02 9845 7027

 


Blacktown and Mount Druitt Hospitals

  • Combined Intern and Resident Tutorials - Every Wednesday and Thursday, 1pm-2pm, Level 3 UWS, Clinical School


Blacktown and Mount Druitt Contact Information

Co-Director of Training

Anna Duke

Anna.duke@health.nsw.gov.au

 

Co-Director of Training

Ahamed Zawab

Ahamed.Zawab@health.nsw.gov.au

02 9881 8388

JMO Manager

Danielle Morris

danielle.morris@health.nsw.gov.au

02 9881 7141

 

Education Support Officer

Dinesh Narayan

Dineshwar.Narayan@health.nsw.gov.au

02 9881 8266

 

 


Director of Training

Dr Chris Nielsen

ccan49@hotmail.com

02 9881 1831

JMO Manager

Danielle Morris

danielle.morris@health.nsw.gov.au

02 9881 7141

 

Education Support Officer

Dinesh Narayan

Dineshwar.Narayan@health.nsw.gov.au

02 9881 8266

 

 

Auburn Hospital

  • Tutorial – twice week Tuesday and /Thursday times TBA


Auburn Contact Information

 

Director of Training

Greg White

Greg.White@health.nsw.gov.au

02 8759 3356

JMO Manager

Jenny Sleiman

Jennifer.sleiman@health.nsw.gov.au

 

02 8759 3136

Medical Staff Officer

Louise Yazbek

louise.yazbek@health.nsw.gov.au

02 8759 3137

 


 

Prevocational Orientation Resources

You can access prevocational orientation resources including:

  • Administration
  • Clinical Information
  • IT Computer Network
  • JMO General Information and Resources
  • Pharmacy and Prescribing here.

 

 

Looking for General
Orientation information?

See more

WSLHD Facilities

Need to make a room booking?